Home  >  Information & Support  >  West Sussex County Council   >  Planning


In West Sussex responsibility for planning is split between the County Council, District and Borough councils, and the South Downs National Park Authority.

As a County Council, our responsibilities include:

  • planning applications for minerals, waste and our own development;
  • minerals and waste policy, which includes the Waste Local Plan and the Minerals Local Plan;
  • transport policy;
  • road agreements (Section 38 and Section 278);
  • Local Land Charges, which are searches carried out when property or land is valued, purchased or leased; and
  • development control for roads, which includes providing advice on road and transport issues associated with proposed development.

For more information on how to find, comment on and/or submit a planning application please click here.

The District and Borough councils’ responsibilities include:

  • all other planning applications
  • building control
  • conservation areas
  • listed buildings
  • Local Plans.

For further information, visit their websites:

The South Downs National Park Authority is responsible for planning in the National Park.

    This website may use cookies to provide an improved experience. You can refuse these cookies by changing your browser settings.
    To remove this message, click here to accept cookies.